Diplomacy rules question From: chpetk@gdr.bath.ac.uk (Toby Kelsey) Date: Mon, 24 Feb 1992 18:33:56 +0000 I have been only playing Diplomacy for a short time, and a position has arisen which the rules are unclear about. Move: (English) Fleet Norway -> Sweden (German) Fleet Denmark s. Fl. Norway -> Sweden (English) Fleet North Sea -> Norway (English) Fleet Norwegian Sea s. Fl. North Sea -> Norway (Russian) Army Finland -> Norway (Russian) Fleet Sweden s. A. Finland -> Norway (Russian) Fleet St. Petersburg (N. Coast) s. A. Finland -> Norway [ s. = supports ] Obviously the attack on Sweden succeeds. Russia is mounting a force 3 attack on Norway. According to the rules a unit cannot cut the support of an attack on itself (this is stated clearly). So the force 3 attack should still be force 3 and Russia should gain Norway, overcoming England's force 2 attack. However one of the examples given in the rules simply contradicts this. It appears that the (implicit) rule being used is that if an attack succeeds then support is cut even if it is support for an attack against that unit. If the attack against Sweden fails then the support isn't cut. Doesn't it contradict the idea that superior force always wins (since now a unit may cut the support of an attack against itself)? Doesn't it also contradict the idea that moves are simultaneous? You now cannot decide which attacks work after calculating support/cutting support, as whether support exists may depend on whether an attack succeeds. Toby. -- Toby Kelsey School of Chemistry, # JANET: chpetk@uk.ac.bath.gdr, otherwise University of Bath. # chpetk%gdr.bath.ac.uk@nsfnet-relay.ac.uk Referenced By Up