ATLANTISv2 atl-players-digest #21 From: csd@microplex.com (Christian Daudt) Date: Fri, 10 Feb 1995 17:24:47 +0000 This file was automatically generated by csd@microplex.com If you notice anything unusual, please e-tell me. You better not kill Faction 9 or this service may be discontinued.:-) Contributions in Silver will be gladly accepted. ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 09 Feb 95 10:50:17 CST From: "Edward Young" <edward.young@telecom.wisc.edu> Subject: >Situation: faction A's unit tries to assassinate faction B's unit, >and faction C's unit attacks faction B's unit. If A fails the >assassination, according to the rules, combat then ensues. Will C >get involved in the battle, or will that be a separate battle >entirely? If C does get involved, will be then get the use of their >armor (if any)? Last, if there is a spell that simulates armor, can >it be used against assassination attempts? O.K. let me clairfy this question. (The wording on my first draft that I never sent was even worse.) A successful assassination can involve the assassin dying and the target living. My question involved a "successful" assassination where the assassin fails to get a kill on his first "free" attack round. Thx. Faction 104 ---------------------------------------------------------- From: "Matthew S. Taylor" <matthew@clark.net> Subject: ATL-Possible Rules Conflict/Bug Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 13:49:30 -0500 (EST) In the list of abbreviations [section 11, page 35 in my rules *PLUG* :)] I note the the abbreviation for Herbs the item and Herblore the skill are botj "HER". Likewise, Horses and Horsetraining are both "HOR". Other Items & skills such as Longbow differ. Is this a problem? I suspect that orders could fail if there the HER or HOR abbreviation is used and in the code it is valid only in one context. -- Matthew Taylor matthew@clark.net ---------------------------------------------------------- From: "Matthew S. Taylor" <matthew@clark.net> Subject: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 13:44:55 -0500 (EST) Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the same turn by issuing orders for that unit number? -- Matthew Taylor matthew@clark.net ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 12:35:13 -0600 From: fizban@ins.infonet.net (David A. Johnson) Subject: Look, allowing role playing on this list was in my opinion a bad idea. The trafic is too high. Initially I was under the impression that this ist was for getting help and asking questions. Role playing should be left to the times or done via provate e-mail. I'm tired of having to wade through all the role playing posts. Don;t get me wrong I think role playing is important to this game, however, everyone should not have to be subjected to the role playing. I don;t really care about what the black company is doing or has done. Since, however, the moderator had decided to allow this to continue I ask to be removed from this list. Dave ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 9 Feb 95 11:13:24 PST From: "GDUNBAR.US.ORACLE.COM" <GDUNBAR@us.oracle.com> Subject: Re: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? --Boundary-6744563-0-0 ]Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. ] ]If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the same ]turn by issuing orders for that unit number? The unit will continue to execute the orders it was given, until the end of the turn. I should put this in the rules somewhere. Geoff --Boundary-6744563-0-0 X-Orcl-Content-Type: message/rfc822 Received: 09 Feb 1995 10:46:57 Sent: 09 Feb 1995 10:44:28 From:"Matthew S. Taylor" <matthew@clark.net> To: atl-players@tango.rahul.net,(Atlantis,2,Players,Mail,list) Subject: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? Cc: GDUNBAR@us.oracle.com,(Geoff,Dunbar) Reply-to: matthew@clark.net X-Orcl-Application: X-Mailer: ELM [version 2.4 PL24alpha3] X-Orcl-Application: Mime-Version: 1.0 X-Orcl-Application: Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1 X-Orcl-Application: Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit X-Orcl-Application: Content-Length: 238 Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the same turn by issuing orders for that unit number? -- Matthew Taylor matthew@clark.net --Boundary-6744563-0-0-- ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 13:39:30 -0800 (PST) From: Richard Chiang <richc@ocf.Berkeley.EDU> Subject: Atlantis: Newbie Hey I just signed up. Anything interesting happening? Any advice? Or how about any schools starting? thanks richard ps ignore the typing please. i broke my wrist in a motorcycle accident sunday and am currently a little gimpy. Time for the one hand shuffle over that keyboard ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 17:01:06 -0500 From: mosherj@minerva.cis.yale.edu (Joshua Mosher) Subject: Re: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? At 11:13 AM 2/9/95, GDUNBAR.US.ORACLE.COM wrote: >--Boundary-6744563-0-0 > >]Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. >] >]If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the same >]turn by issuing orders for that unit number? > >The unit will continue to execute the orders it was given, until >the end of the turn. I should put this in the rules somewhere. > >Geoff I'm sorry, I still don't understand: do you mean the unit being transfered will execute its _former_ faction's orders until the end of the turn? ---------------------------------------------------------- From: tim.hruby@his.com (Tim Hruby) Date: Thu, 09 Feb 1995 11:41:25 Subject: Atlantis: Black Company > Yes, The voyagers are sending (and receiving) reports from the CCC, > but there is no such thing as a warning not to go in 46,53 in any of > the messages I had. This reduces your > sort-of-trying-not-to-look-too-bad to barely nothing. By wiped out, I > just meant wiped out of the Gathering, of course, I'm really, really > feeling terrible when I think you could have misunderstood me, did you? Just to clarify this for anyone who may care: On turn 2, Mark (the Black Company) sent in a CCC report of a hex, and ask that a warning be included with it. I included the warning in the Turn 2 CCC distribution, but with a disclaimer that the CCC wasn't endorsing any claims he might be making to the land. Mark and I had a private discussion over his message and my disclaimer. On turn 3, Mark did not send in a CCC map report. However, somebody else did for that hex (probably Remi, but I don't know offhand). I put the updated report in the final distribution for turn 3, and took out the older report. I don't bother keeping records of when people joined or quit (there's just too many people), so I don't know whether or not Remi got the turn 2 report and Mark's warning. (I only remember Mark because of the extended personal contact we had). That should clarify the extent of the CCC's involvement (such that it was) in this whole unpleastantry, if anyone was wondering. Tim Hruby, Coordinator of the CCC (I guess that makes me the CCCC :-) The Welcoming Hand [192] -- tim.hruby@his.com PGP key available by server or request. 507/7305D1 2C 67 E4 30 A1 A1 B2 2D 94 12 6C 9C 9D F3 A7 B8 ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 20:21:48 +0500 From: roy@acasun.eckerd.edu (Jonathan Roy) Subject: Re: Atlantis: Turn checker status? I have a 2.0 syntax checker.. It'll check syntax for almost anything, and will give verbose (ie: understandable) error messages. It doesn't, yet, have the list of valid items, etc etc, added to it. ie: It knows "give 1 15" is illegal but "give 1 15 thisthisthis" is ok. I need to add the real lists of things first, then I'll release it, or setup a mail-server, whatever... ---------------------------------------------------------- From: "Matthew S. Taylor" <matthew@clark.net> Subject: Re: ATL-Possible Rules Conflict/Bug Date: Thu, 9 Feb 1995 20:20:08 -0500 (EST) Mark Hesidence writes: > > Matthew S. Taylor writes: > > > > In the list of abbreviations [section 11, page 35 in my rules *PLUG* :)] I > > note the the abbreviation for Herbs the item and Herblore the skill are botj > > "HER". Likewise, Horses and Horsetraining are both "HOR". Other Items & > > skills such as Longbow differ. Is this a problem? I suspect that orders > > could fail if there the HER or HOR abbreviation is used and in the code it > > is valid only in one context. > > > > I don't think there will be any confusion (at least for the program) > since Herbs and Horses are items and Herb Lore and Horse Training > are skills. In other words you can't GIVE someone a skill and you > can't study and item. > > That is my point. The code could have been written to recognise the abbreviation as ONLY an item or a skill, causing orders to fail 50% of the time. > -- Matthew Taylor matthew@clark.net ---------------------------------------------------------- From: tulrich@unlinfo.unl.edu (Tim Ulrich) Subject: Atlantis: several questions Date: Fri, 10 Feb 1995 01:21:07 -0600 (CST) Hi everyone, I tried to save up my questions so that I could ask a lot at once. I'd ask that those of you who don't KNOW the answers try to refrain from giving answers. (Too often we get "It would seem like x, y, z." and it turns out that's not the way it actually works, so everyone gets messed up by the wrong answer!) 1. The latest turn report didn't have the season listed for any sectors. Should we assume that we'll only see winter on our reports, as nothing else affects movement? 2. I'm kind of shaky on how combat is figured out. If there is a three man unit, but only two swords, the swords do show up in the combat odds, right? The next several questions all, to some extent, relate to the guard command. There are a lot of things that don't make sense to me. 3. Anyone who is combat (or bow) trained can issue the guard order, but what happens if multiple factions issue it on the same turn? The first unit to show up on the list gets it? In much the same way, what happens if one faction is on guard and another faction issues the guard order? Does it automatically fail or do the two units fight it out? 4. What does the guard command really do? a) If I have a one man, combat 1 unit that is on guard in a region, and an enemy force of 500 combat 5 orcs issues the move command to come in, they're blocked automatically? If they issue the advance command, though, we fight? b) What about with tax? If the same one man, combat 1 unit is on guard, do any other non-friendly units just automatically fail in their tax, or does this cause a fight? 5. If we are moving on horses, and travel across several hexes of plains, we get no report concerning the regions we travel through. In a lot of ways it's like we're not even there. With this is mind, say I issue the command MOVE SW SW SW SW. Three hexes to the SW my enemy has a unit on guard. Do I get bumped back to SW SW, or do I just complete my movement to the fourth hex? Also, if I issued ADVANCE SW SW SW SW, instead, would I stop and fight in the third hex before continuing to the fourth? 6. I have 10 knights, trained in combat and riding to level 2. All have horses. I issue the ADVANCE command to move from a tundra region into a mountain. Since there is a unit on guard in the mountain, I get stopped and we fight. Do my knights get the riding bonus? Are they stopped in the mountain, or at the base of the mountain in the tundra? That's it for the questions, thanks for your time. -- Any views I express are probably my own... Nobody else is willing to let me speak for them! Timothy Ulrich tulrich@unlinfo.unl.edu ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Fri, 10 Feb 1995 20:47:20 +1300 (NZDT) From: Peter Fleming <pfleming@eros.otago.ac.nz> Subject: The Atlantean Enquirer __________________ THE ATLANTEAN ENQUIRER____________ issue 3. (issue 2 lost in a Net-warp somewhere in the Pacific Ocean) WAR IN NORK !!!!! SPECIAL REPORT The Battle Of Nork (46,53) From our reporter on the scene. The forest of Nork has always been a sleepy outskirt to the south of Sledmere. Quiet and unassuming, the Vikings of the region have revelled in the finer things modern culture provides. That is, until today. The scene in this once tranquil wood land is now one of carnage and destruction, the echoes of which reverberated around the world. Children screaming, women running for cover and raiders hiding behind bushes at every corner. This is the stark reality of war! So how did this all start? Who is to blame for the mass destruction? when will it end? The three protagonists in the dispute are the Voyagers from Breizh (126), The Black Company (124) and the Cognoscenti (24). To recap the Voyagers had a force of five high elves with swords occupying this location when the Black Company attacked, wiping out the elf unit to a man without sustaining one casualty. In the following recriminations the Voyagers started accusing everyone within a five hex distance of corruption, despotism and all out megalomania. The Cognoscenti, who were in the same hex as the battle at the time, even though they did not take part in it, took the brunt of the allegations and started threatening the Voyagers with Breizhcide if they didn't take back their hot-headed remarks. Apparently this has not yet happened so the people of Nork are expecting the worst. And the learned members of the Gathering, now gathering in the area are in urgent conference, after this attack on one of their members. Will the Gathering be diverted from their peaceful path or will hot heads prevail. One witness described the battle as a 'route'... "The Breizh pointy-ears were obviously looking for trouble. They came waltzing in with their swords waving and singing very lewd rugby sings. If it hadn't been for those brave mean onf the Black Company who would be able to say what may have happened." Another eye witness replies... "Then came the begining of april, and in a treacherous frenzy, people from the Black Company (20 Vikings, and their 5 leaders) came on by surprise and kicked the hell out of an inoffensive scouting party.Yes, it was very sad indeed, as there was absolutely no reason for that slaughter. Not even the shade of it. It was just stupidity. Now everybody knows there is an asshole to kick in 46,53... (Remember : Faction 124, The Black company... I'd like to see it turn red...). BLOOD ! MURDER ! RAPE ! TAXES ! GREEN JELLY ! STUPIDITY ! CHRISTMAS PUDDING !" A spokesman for the Black Company said 'We had no choice really. It was attack or be attacked. We have always been believers in getting our retaliation in first so a preemptive strike seemed the best way to deal with the threat.' Gabriel of the Cognoscenti, who also witnessed the slaughter, said 'I was out collecting butterflies for my collection when CWASH! All these big, nasty men started beating each other up. I weally don't like violence so I just hid in a bush until they had finished. One of the side with the pointy swords twied to wun away when he saw he was going to get beaten but the other guys caught up with him and...and... Oh, it was weally gahstly. I don't want to talk about" One unanswered remains, who was the third unidentified party? VIPER LIKED MY FEET! Rumors of Royal Romance, Could it be that Lord Viper (the scaley sinister Minister of Assasination, the Hetman of Atlantan hitmen) is the LOVE SLAVE of the Princess of Nork? When asked for comment Lord Foxs' evil twin shouted out " I repudiate Slavery". Drawings purporting to show the Viper lying backwards nibbling on the legs of his Princess, have been pasted all about Sledmere. Does the Knave of Knives have invisible enemies that also claim the night, "Yes", says our cub reporter Dave McGaw, "I know for a FACT coz I WAS THERE!". Neighbours sleep uneasily as eerie noises, particularly a low hissing sound, echo through the Atlantis City night. Sleep well and keep the shutters tight. AMAZING CRYSTAL BALL DISCOVERED Top researchers at the Atlantean Enquirer, have discovered a crystal ball capable of displaying images of Atlantis. This wonder of the world is available now to readers of the Enquirer. Technical details follow. (a Visual Basic app, for Windows, requires VBRUN300 and some .dll's and .vbx files. If a Visual Basic expert contacts me, we can work out what support files are needed) -Maximus Tiberius Murderoch (hic) ALIEN SPOTTED IN NORKIAN SWAMP "That not no elf!" remarked the leader of a nameless tribe of Norkian swamp elves. He wished to remain anonymous, "so tribal council not depose me as crazy elf," but he did describe his encounter in detail to the Enquirer: "I hunt bog widdles for dinner. See little man. Have pointy ears like elf, but not elf, no way. Green, 'bout three feet tall, wear brown robe, carry stick. Most no hair. Look very old. He look at me, sigh. 'Too old for training,' he say. Then him disappear. No hide, just gone. Me run home. Go hungry that night." Very illuminating. KOMARKEN CALL FOR UNITY All citizens of Kashmar join together so that we stand against the other alliances that seek to destroy everything on their way.United we can teach each other and we can avoid wars between us that will exhaust us to death All free factions are welcome to join. The working faction 181 andrew@hra.ergasya.tuc.gr DATA-NETICS UNVEILE The Church of Barkleyology has, through minutes of painful thought, been enlightened with the understanding of a new philosophy, called "Data Netics". As High Priest Barkley explains, "Most frustrations and aggravations in life can be traced back to a feeling of helplessness, that one's fate and destiny is outside one's control. Some even become mentally ill as a result of rampant paranoia centering on the feeling that there is some unseen force controlling our life, our destiny, our every action, and that we are powerless in any way to change the course of our affairs by our own efforts. To which Barkleyology replies, 'So, what's your point?'" Data Netics takes that sense of powerlessness we all fight at one time or another, calls a truce, and invites it in for tea and a chat by the fire. "Once our disciples accept the utter futility of trying to change their situation they become much more pliable - I mean relaxed," Barkley goes on. "They accept the fact that there is some unknown Power controlling them and every other person in Atlantis, (although Data Netics states that not every person is controlled by the same Power - in fact, there seem to be over 300 different Powers!). They no longer feel any responsibility for their actions, since they don't control them anyway, and thus become very suggestable... I mean open to our suggestions as to how to lead better, less stressful lives. They become capable of the most heinous... I mean altruistic of deeds. Not that it matters." ### if you have news or Newsworthy stories that must come out before the mid-turn, just send em to The Editor. pfleming@eros.otago.ac.nz ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Fri, 10 Feb 1995 04:15:34 -0600 (CST) From: <carioca@io.com> Subject: Does anyone know if it is possible to work in atlantis city? do we need to order the units to work? -carioca@io.com Faction 223 ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Fri, 10 Feb 1995 10:56:06 -0500 (EST) From: Tom Stapleford <tomas@brahms.udel.edu> Subject: Re: your mail On Fri, 10 Feb 1995 carioca@io.com wrote: > > Does anyone know if it is possible to work in atlantis city? do > we need to order the units to work? It is possible to work in Atlantis City. I assume you must order them to "WORK." --Tom ---------------------------------------------------------- Date: Fri, 10 Feb 95 08:23:21 PST From: "GDUNBAR.US.ORACLE.COM" <GDUNBAR@us.oracle.com> Subject: Re: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? --Boundary-8564266-0-0 ]>]Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. ]>] ]>]If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the ]same ]>]turn by issuing orders for that unit number? ]> ]>The unit will continue to execute the orders it was given, until ]>the end of the turn. I should put this in the rules somewhere. ]> ]>Geoff ] ]I'm sorry, I still don't understand: do you mean the unit being transfered ]will execute its _former_ faction's orders until the end of the turn? Yes that's right. Geoff --Boundary-8564266-0-0 X-Orcl-Content-Type: message/rfc822 Received: 09 Feb 1995 19:27:05 Sent: 09 Feb 1995 19:11:26 From:"Joshua Mosher" <owner-atl-players@tango.rahul.net> To: atl-players@tango.rahul.net Subject: Re: ATL-GIVE and MOVE? Reply-to: owner-atl-players@tango.rahul.net X-Orcl-Application: Mime-Version: 1.0 X-Orcl-Application: Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" At 11:13 AM 2/9/95, GDUNBAR.US.ORACLE.COM wrote: >--Boundary-6744563-0-0 > >]Looking at the order execution sequence I not that GIVE comes before MOVE. >] >]If faction A GIVEs a unit to faction B, can faction B move that unit the same >]turn by issuing orders for that unit number? > >The unit will continue to execute the orders it was given, until >the end of the turn. I should put this in the rules somewhere. > >Geoff I'm sorry, I still don't understand: do you mean the unit being transfered will execute its _former_ faction's orders until the end of the turn? --Boundary-8564266-0-0-- Up